Javier’s Gourmet Mexicano

Get ready to enjoy some fabulous Mexican cuisine at a longstanding restaurant in Highland Park: Javier’s Gourmet Mexicano.

When I drove up to this restaurant, I knew I was in for a great time, because this bustling establishment had a parking lot full of diners ready to enjoy some great food. While there is free parking along the streets, they do offer valet services if you are hoping to park inside the lot. Since my party had a reservation, we didn’t need to wait to be seated. We were quickly directed to our table, and walking through the restaurant, I couldn’t believe how many dining rooms there were. In addition to their traditional dining rooms, this establishment also has a cigar bar if you are looking to kick back and enjoy a cigar with friends.

After we were seated, our waiter quickly brought over water to our table and gave us some time to look over their large drink menu. They had everything from Mexican mules and martinis to classic and exotic margarita options. Since I wanted to try something new, I ordered the Paco’s revenge that had a Smokey mezcal instead of tequila and a little bit of spice. The cocktail was absolutely perfect and wasn’t overly spicy.

My margarita tasted great with the crispy chips and green and red salsa. Both salsas had the perfect amount of spice, and for those who have a sensitive pallet, they also offer butter to calm the heat. I thought this unique option was a fun way to try something new. Since I enjoy a lot of Mexican food, I asked our friendly waiter for recommendations on the menu. He suggested something for everyone in our group, and after some thought, I went with the Mojo de Ajo.

When the food was served, I couldn’t wait to dive in. My fresh red snapper fish was served in garlic and lemon sauce that was to die for. I also loved the fresh squeezed lemon on top and how it tasted with their sautéed vegetables. I loved the Mexican flavors that weren’t traditional to what I typically order. The whole experience felt truly upscale, from the food to the amazing service. Although I was completely full from my meal, the waiter also recommended their tres leches cake. I know next time I will be sure to save some room to enjoy this delicacy.

Want to live near the great restaurants & shops in Dallas? Follow this link from Texas Pride Realty Group.

Javier’s Gourmet Mexicano

4912 Cole Ave, Dallas, TX 75205

(214) 521-4211